Movies You’ve Probably Never Heard Of #11

Invasion Of The Blood Farmers (1972)

They plant the living, they harvest the dead. Or so says the promotion for the 1972 sclock-fest ‘Invasion of the Blood Farmers‘. It was only a matter of time before someone cashed in on that most terrifying of rural industries.., Farming. Blood farmers, as it turns out, are sort of hillbilly druids, members of an ancient race who strive to reawaken the body of their queen with the blood of the living.  That last sentence is about the most coherent thing you can say about ‘Blood Farmers‘. As gaping plot inconsistencies pop up quicker than you can drain a corpse, ‘Blood Farmers‘ gets increasingly random as a blood craved scientist, bumbling cops, agriculture, and druids are bought together in un-holy movie matrimony. But wait there’s more. More? Yes.., more. You get a man called Jim Carrey, as well as Blood Farmers with names like Creton, Egon, and Sontag, not to mention Queen Onhorrid. Does it all gel? No, of course not. But as wacky as it is, ‘Blood Farmers‘ does seem rather ahead of its time (can’t believe I just said that) by using murderous hillbillies and backwoods way before 80s slasher films and even pre-dating ‘The Texas Chainsaw Massacre‘ and thematic twin ‘Motel Hell‘ (1980). So give credit where credit’s due.

So time to man up. Who’s seen it? Who has ridden the tractor of doom all the way to Blood Farm? Raise your pitchforks if you have…,

See the other 10 Movies You’ve Probably Never Heard Of.., here

Tagged , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Movies You’ve Probably Never Heard Of #11

  1. Noor says:

    Ha, the cover looks scaryyy….
    -Noor
    http://noor724.wordpress.com/
    🙂

  2. I’ve seen some shit, but not this shit. It’s weird, but there were a decent amount of “Farm” horror flicks in the 80’s.

  3. Wow sounds like a fun one! I’ll check it out! http://www.denwrites.com

  4. jackowick says:

    Awesome. Reminds me of watching MST3K and wishing sometimes that I could watch the whole movie without commentary. Not that I mind MST3K.

  5. c8ic8 says:

    I saw this at the Alamo Drafthouse in Austin during one of their free Terror Thursday nights. Horrendous, and not in the way you would hope. You could tell the budget was about half a shoestring and the actors had no clue what they were doing. Almost surreal it was so bad.

  6. bmj2k says:

    Is this the one where heads grow out of the ground like zombie cabbage?

  7. cmblake6 says:

    Have you ever covered Andy Warhol’s “Frankenstein”? You wanna talk about a movie that was strange!

  8. Barry Mañana says:

    do they drive around in zombie harvesters!

  9. Classic says:

    I must see this..

  10. […] Read more from the original source:  Movies You've Probably Never Heard Of #11 « Deadly Movies […]

  11. Daniel says:

    I saw it years ago… Don’t remember where or how, but I think maybe it should stay buried !!!

  12. Lady Lazarus says:

    Last night, while watching the “Making of ‘The Texas Chainsaw Massacre'” documentary included on that DVD’s bonus features, this particular film was mentioned. Today, I happen across your post. And that, fellow horror film fan, is what we call serendipity. No, I’ve never seen this film, but am now determined to track it down.

  13. oldancestor says:

    I was ready to dismiss your list, since most such blog entries actually contain movies your average film buff knows about… until I saw it. I actually hadn’t heard of a couple of those,and know a lot of obscure films.

  14. shenanitims says:

    Lordie, now I’m going to have to look at the other ten. I can remember renting _Invasion of the Blood Farmers_ when I was 14-15. Right before _I Dismember Mama_.

  15. Thank you Freshly Pressed for introducing this blog to me…I will certainly be hunting down Invasion of the Blood Farmers, and I know just the place. I’ll be back for more deadly movie suggestions…I can already tell I’m going to like it here…

  16. shenanitims says:

    “‘Blood Farmers‘ does seem rather ahead of its time (can’t believe I just said that) by using murderous hillbillies and backwoods way before 80s slasher films and even pre-dating ‘The Texas Chainsaw Massacre‘ and thematic twin ‘Motel Hell‘ (1980). So give credit where credit’s due.”

    So we’re giving credit to _2,000 Maniacs_ in a review about _Invasion of the Blood Farmers_? ;P

  17. Rob says:

    Awesome post

  18. goldenpast says:

    Great, now I want to see this movie.
    lol

  19. Melissa says:

    This is my new favorite blog. Hahaha, love it. Do you think the blood farmers are growing any killer tomatoes?

  20. Nope. I’ll have to check it out.

  21. riscphree says:

    damn, good stuff, I’m gonna have to find this movie.

  22. ashKool says:

    Wow…
    Gotta see it… 1972, pretty interesting. 🙂

    Thanks,
    ashKool

  23. fuzzy says:

    this looks cool. gota get my hands on this one now 😛

  24. lostbutf0und says:

    Not my cup of tea thank you! 😀

  25. vestuves1.lt says:

    I have allways liked horror movies, need to see this one

  26. sayitinasong says:

    I have never ever seen a horror movie in my life. Sad but true. I get too scared and cannot stand the sight of blood.

    • deadlymovies says:

      Work your way up.., baby steps! the key thing to remember is to be in on the joke. Horror films are essentially wild rides that are about the thrill of being scared. It’s all one massive in-joke 🙂

  27. Ann Bruner says:

    Sounds better than Motel Hell….I’d watch it!

  28. you are correct….not ever heard of 🙂

  29. sJiht says:

    Nice post!

    Btw free movies on SJIHT.NET

Leave a Reply

