Harold Ramis Dies Age 69

haroldramis

I feel compelled to write a little something today on the sad passing of actor, writer, and director Harold Ramis. I think I’m writing this as a little soul searching for the 10 year old me who would – very literally – watch a VHS copy of Ghostbusters daily. The cassette was a Christmas present from my parents and my first ever PG rated movie, which made me feel particularly grownup. I have no idea how old I would have been that Christmas, but I’d hazard a guess of five or six. I watched that movie so may times that the vinyl cover that holds the paper sleeve in place was sellotaped to the box and the tape itself was heavily scratched and scuffed from over viewing (except for the librarian scene which a skipped over for years).

Anyway, the point is that I watched and studied the faces of Ramis, Aykroyd, and Murray daily. As a child when you are completely unaware of the existence of celebrities and a filmmaking process, all you know are the faces of the people on screen. Later, of course, as I became aware of life outside Ghostbusters I would watch anything with these three in it leading me into the films of their peers; actors like Belushi, Chase, Martin, Moranis, and Candy, and their respective work, and so on. While many creative people contributed to the success and wonderment that is Ghostbusters, it was those repeat viewings, a process impossible to pre-VHS generations, where Ramis, Aykroyd, and Maurray became these unknown familiars to me, and, along with that VHS, I have taken them with me everyday since.

In short Harold Ramis’s body of work as an actor, writer, and director had a great effect personally on millions of people, including me as just one, and we are all eternally grateful and will miss him dearly as fans and distant admirers. I think if we all go out today and eat a 35 foott long Twinkie weighting approximately 600 lbs, Harold would be very happy.

Tagged

One thought on “Harold Ramis Dies Age 69

  1. And we lose another great this year. Only way to celebrate his life and do it right is to start re-watching some of those epic films that wouldn’t have been made, or been great without Ramis and also to remind this new generation what they should strive for as writers, director’s and actor’s themselves. Long live the Twinkie!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,301 other followers

